Go Back   Sports Car Forum - MotorWorld.net > Automotive Brands Forum > Bike Chat

Old 07-13-2005, 10:57 PM   #1
SFDMALEX
Regular User

Default Some n00b bike questions.

Well I know nothing about bikes so I have so very dumb questions so I have some basic knowledge.

What are top bike brands? Like what are "exotics" of the bike world.
Who makes the fastest bike currently? And by fastest I mean track bike.

What would be a good bike for a beginer like me? My experiance is very small with bikes. Rode a few adult size dirt bikes back when I was about 13, and a few sprints up and down the street and some random stuff that I dont even know the name of anymore.
SFDMALEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 11:02 PM   #2
T-Bird
Regular User

well I can tell you if you are looking for exotic bikes rather than just faster then you would go for Ducati, Aprilia, and MV Agusta to name a few of the really exotic ones all from Italy BTW. I would Honestly say Honda has the nicest overall bikes though.
T-Bird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 11:10 PM   #3
5vz-fe
Regular User

Suzuki 1300R is one of the fastest, I think it was featured in Discovery Channel before, but those are heavy bikes (i.e. will not be as good on handling)

I personally love Ducati's.......a red one is to die for.
Old 07-13-2005, 11:50 PM   #4
RC45
Regular User

Originally Posted by 5vz-fe
Suzuki 1300R is one of the fastest, I think it was featured in Discovery Channel before, but those are heavy bikes (i.e. will not be as good on handling)
This "bad handling" big bike idea is a very relative statement.

By todays standards a current open class hyperbike lik the Busa is a "bad handler" compared to the GSXR600/750/1000 brigade.

But - compared to a 'hot 750 from the mid 1990's the modern Busa would still (in the right hands) eclipse it.
RC45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 12:07 AM   #5
5vz-fe
Regular User