Go Back   Sports Car Forum - MotorWorld.net > Hobbies and Leisure Time > Photography

Old 11-15-2005, 05:11 PM   #1
Apac102
Regular User

Default Buying a camera

Hi guys. I just broke my old camera and i am looking to buy a new one. Ive heard to stick with either Nikon or Canon brands. Is there any other brand out there that is really good Ive just never heard of? Im looking at the Nikon Coolpix S3, Sony CyberShot DSC-T7 , and the Canon PowerShot A620.

These are the things that i want:
- to stay between a $400-500
- a sleek lil design that i can stick in my pocket and not be blugging out.
- very very very durable
- a good movie camera option on it
- if i have problems with it i don't want to be able not to get it fixed for free or have any hassles.

*Im a beginner with cameras so take that in account.*

So any suggestions is what Im asking...thanks.
Apac102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 11:29 AM   #2
MartijnGizmo
Regular User

Some of the features are hard to combine. The Canon Powershot S2 IS for example has a great movie-option with stereo sounds, but is quite big for a compact.
Old 11-16-2005, 11:54 AM   #3
5vz-fe
Regular User

Apac102, try look at some of the Casios / Pentax...they are in pretty good size too

Exilim EX-S500 takes 640x480 vid @ 30 frames / sec and also have pretty decent picture quality.
Old 11-26-2005, 02:34 AM   #4
ae86_16v
Regular User

400-500 you could get a pretty good point and shoot. I like the T7 a lot because of its slimness.

I also recommend checking out the Canon SD-Series Powershots. Those are a good compromise between size and features and lense quality.

Check out www.dpreview.com.

Also take a look at this thread.

http://www.motorworld.net/forum/showthread.php?t=33381
ae86_16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 03:19 AM   #5
Zot09
Regular User