Go Back   Sports Car Forum - MotorWorld.net > Hobbies and Leisure Time > Computers, Consoles, Gadgets And Gizmos



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2008, 02:00 AM   #1
HeilSvenska
Regular User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The OC™
Posts: 4,881
Default Modern technology sucks ass: I can't get my computer to work! (fixed, nevermind)

I just got a new (used) computer tower by itself, and it worked fine when it was hooked up to my friend's peripherals, but when I took it home it didn't work with my keyboard! It has to do to the fact that my keyboard has a PS/2 connection. So I got a USB adapter, but I can't still log on because the computer doesn't recognize the setup. And I can't use my brand new keyboard because you have to install a new software on the computer. But I can't do that when my mouse doesn't work. WTF. So I wasted money on two adapters for no reason. Why can't things be just simple? And what happened to plug and play?
__________________

Last edited by HeilSvenska; 08-31-2008 at 03:05 PM.
HeilSvenska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 03:50 AM   #2
HeilSvenska
Regular User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The OC™
Posts: 4,881
Default

Wooooooot! It took two hours, but I got it working! It'll be a while before I'll get used to the new keyboard and new monitor, though.
__________________
HeilSvenska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 04:19 AM   #3
Mattk
Regular User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 6,610
Default

Ah, right, a new computer. I was a bit confused as to how you go post on the forum when your computer did not work.
__________________
One stumble does not constitute total failure;
One victory does not constitute total success.
Mattk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 06:43 AM   #4
Spiffu
Regular User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 252
Default

Regardless if you have the software or not, a USB keyboard should accept input with or without drivers from windows. Drivers are only for built in features on the keyboard like extra buttons for peripheral functions standard keyboards don't have. Same thing for mice.

In your bios (at least in the past 8 years or so) there is native USB support from boot for USB input devices.

I'm surprised you've been using a PS/2 device of any kind all this time.

/geek mode
__________________

It's an 06 dammit!
Spiffu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 03:06 PM   #5
HeilSvenska
Regular User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The OC™
Posts: 4,881
Default

^I've been using the same computer since 2001(2). Now I've caught up to 2006 standards.
__________________
HeilSvenska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 12:20 AM   #6
jagermaster
Regular User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: L.A. Area
Posts: 37
Default

now u need to upgrade to 2008 then again in 2009
jagermaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 01:48 AM   #7
79TA
Regular User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,570
Default

Whiner. You don't even have to put up with any of HP's nonsense.

What did you do to make it work? Were the adapters really that much cheaper than a simple used USB keyboard?
79TA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 02:42 AM   #8
HeilSvenska
Regular User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The OC™
Posts: 4,881
Default

Yeah. There's a slight problem with my monitor though. When I change the resolution, it doesn't use all of the screen.
__________________
HeilSvenska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 12:40 PM   #9
79TA
Regular User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,570
Default

resolved yet?
79TA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 12:43 PM   #10
HeilSvenska
Regular User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The OC™
Posts: 4,881
Default

Resolved enough. As far as I can figure.
__________________
HeilSvenska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 03:54 PM   #11
dutchmasterflex
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,566
Default

Noob.
__________________
dutchmasterflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 04:05 PM   #12
nthfinity
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 9,929
Default

Originally Posted by HeilSvenska View Post
Wooooooot! It took two hours, but I got it working! It'll be a while before I'll get used to the new keyboard and new monitor, though.
I picked up a 25.5 " Samsung monitor 1920x1200 for 320$ new from best buy
HELLOVADEAL!! and fantastic color reproduction, low 5ms lag time
__________________
www.nthimage.com
Car photography website
nthfinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 04:05 PM   #13
HeilSvenska
Regular User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The OC™
Posts: 4,881
Default

Lol. Yes.
__________________
HeilSvenska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 04:06 PM   #14
HeilSvenska
Regular User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The OC™
Posts: 4,881
Default

Originally Posted by nthfinity View Post
I picked up a 25.5 " Samsung monitor 1920x1200 for 320$ new from best buy
HELLOVADEAL!! and fantastic color reproduction, low 5ms lag time
What?! Pics or STFU! Otherwise, I'll have to return my monitor and get that one instead!
__________________
HeilSvenska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 04:08 PM   #15
nthfinity
Regular User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 9,929
Default

Originally Posted by HeilSvenska View Post
I feel compelled to return my monitor and get one! But bastards at Fry's will probably make that impossible.
I originally bought a westinghouse lcd of the same size, 2 days later, this one was the same price, so i side-graded. Clearence happened, and it dropped another 60$. I was a happy camper, so I bought a PS3 LOL

pics or stfu? hehe, Ok, I'll takea pic of the reciept and monitor? haha
__________________
www.nthimage.com
Car photography website
nthfinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump