PDA

View Full Version : Scale models noob :|

antonioledesma
02-04-2005, 07:50 PM
Hi to all... well as the title can give some details, I'm thinking in buying scale models.
At 10-11 I bought a f40 from bburago, unfortunately it lost a wheel and then dissapeared (I suspect that a maid's kid took it)

From then I didn't buyed more cars, just a couple of hotwheels and some matchboxs. 2 years ago I saw in a sale a ford focus wrc from burago 1/18 (the last Sainz and Mcrae drove), but then you know, the girlfriend, booze, concerts, etc just made me spend all my money.
And a year ago I bought a hotwheels tvr speed 12 1/18 at a flea market

Ok, now all that shit is because I wanna know which are the best models, brands, etc.
I only know burago, maisto and exoto. In this forum I've read autoart, kyosho, minichamps, ixo, etc
As you can read I'm a complete newbie and could you give a "guide" to know the best brands, specialities of each brand, etc?
please?

dingo
02-04-2005, 08:12 PM
If your interested in 1:18 then Autoart and Kyosho are the best way to go IMO, however Kyosho makes a few of the older Ferraris and AA doesn't make any as far as I know :( If you look at some of the pics we have posted you can see the difference in quality between these 2 and HW or Maisto.
However if you want Ferrari's then you have to make do with mainly Maisto or HW - some of which are not too bad :D

gis
02-04-2005, 08:23 PM
as dingo said the best to go for in 1:18 is auto art and kyosho and also minichamps is another well known one,that goes for the 1:43 scale aswell with the exceptions of BBR and red line which have a few limited edition ones that gof or a lot more :)

dingo
02-04-2005, 08:30 PM
oh yeah how could I forget Minichamps :oops: , my favourite model is made by them (my sexy red M3 GTR) :D

gis
02-04-2005, 08:33 PM
not far behind is my sexy silver M3 GTR,lol

antonioledesma
02-04-2005, 09:49 PM