PDA

View Full Version : iPod for cars?..

Johns
10-12-2003, 10:42 PM
can someone give me more info on how to hook up the iPod to your car, and is it worth it to have one? :)

stracing
10-13-2003, 04:40 AM
just get one of those cassette thingys...lost for words at the moment
it'll play thru your cassette player assuming you do have one

or do you mean permanently hooked up to your car?

gmd97
10-13-2003, 09:27 PM
my car cd player was stolen over a year ago, and as just a temporary solution i put in the original tape deck and used my discman with a car-kit. the sound quality was fine, and its easy to hide when parking, so i just left it in.

im sure it would be even better with an ipod.

Johns
10-13-2003, 10:03 PM
yea, I want ipod becuase it holds about 6000 songs :shock: but im new at it so I dont know alot of info on it :? tommy lee has one on his SL500, its sweeet.
http://www.jabbasworld.net/photopost/data/500/128dsc03440_1_.jpg

initiala4
10-13-2003, 10:27 PM
I've seen it done in an Audi....I think they got some sort of wire...forgot whats its called..

AlienDB7
10-13-2003, 10:43 PM
Some head units have line-in so you can connect something like a mp3 player to it. If not, just get a cassette adapter. Personally, I would go for a mp3cd unit instead. The ipod has a HD in it, you never know what can happen to it with the vibration in your car. You don't want to kill the HD when you're driving on bumpy road.

Apac102
01-30-2005, 03:24 PM
Go here: www.mp3yourcar.com

its a bit pricey, but it suppose to sound great. Im also pretty sure you can just buy a cable or something that you just plug in the back of your radio.

mindgam3
01-30-2005, 03:55 PM
Or you could buy one of these:

http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/72301/wo/fo6zWwi0FGwr2q1o3Gs1RawAnQD/1.0.0.11.1.0.6.9.19.0.1.0.1.1.1.1.0.3

just plug it in and tune your radio to its frequency

It's fine for most applications contrary to some bad reviews (at least the mk I anyway)...